Cost of a DUI/DWI in New Jersey

The mandatory fines and suspensions for drunk driving or other DUI convictions vary depending on the offense number (first, second, third, etc.) and the circumstances of the case. That said, there are several financial penalties and fines associated with DUI charges that one should expect at a minimum:

  • Minimum Fine
  • Safe Neighborhood Fund
  • Victim Compensation Fund
  • Law Enforcement Assistance Fund
  • License Reinstatement Fee
  • Alcohol Education Classes
  • Auto Insurance Rate Increase
  • Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) Surcharge
  • Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) Surcharge
  • Car Tow Fee
  • Car Storage Fee

The average cost of pleading guilty to DUI in New Jersey is approximately $4,000.00. That figure does not include how much your insurance company will surcharge you, which could be an additional $1,000.00 or more a year for three (3) years. What’s more, each DUI or DWI charge comes with the potential for jail time. For a first offense, defendants will likely be able to avoid any jail time but a conviction for a second NJ DUI or DWI offense carries with it a mandatory jail sentence of 48 hours to 90 days. Having an experienced and competent DUI/DWI defense lawyer can limit or avoid these consequences.