First Offense DUI or DWI in New Jersey

A first offense DUI or DWI in New Jersey carries mandatory fines and penalties that depend on the level of intoxication.  Those penalties are as follows:

Alcohol or drug related DUI with BAC of 0.10% or Greater:

License loss: If convicted of drunk driving in New Jersey and your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) greater than 0.10%, you face a mandatory loss of license for anywhere from 7 months to one (1) year.

Fines, fees & surcharges: The State of New Jersey imposes a series of mandatory fines for all DUI/DWI convictions, including:

  • $300.00 to $500.00 fine
  • $230.00 Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) fee
  • $100.00 to drunk driving fund
  • $100.00 to Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund (AERF)
  • $1,000.00/year (for 3 years) surcharge to the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC)
  • $75.00 to Neighborhood Services Fund

Prison term: A first offense DUI/DWI conviction can carry a jail sentence up to thirty (30) days.

Community service, IDRC & Interlock:

  • 12 to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC);
 If convicted of drunk driving with a BAC 0.15% or greater, use of an ignition interlock device is required during license suspension and for an additional 6 months – 1 year following license restoration

Alcohol or drug related DUI with BAC of 0.08 but less than 0.10%:

License loss: If convicted of drunk driving in New Jersey and your Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) exceeds the legal limit or 0.08% but is less than 0.10%, you face a mandatory loss of license for three (3) months.

Fines, fees & surcharges:

  • $250.00 to $400.00 fine
  • $230.00 IDRC fee
  • $100.00 to drunk driving fund
  • $100.00 to AERF
  • $1,000.00/year (for 3 years) surcharge to MVC
  • $75.00 to Neighborhood Services Fund

Prison term: Up to thirty (30) days

Community service, IDRC & Interlock:

  • 12 to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC).