Second Offense DUI/DWI in New Jersey
A conviction of a second offense DUI or DWI within ten (10) years of a prior conviction carries the following mandatory fines and penalties:
License Loss: A second drunk driving conviction carries a mandatory license suspension for two (2) years.
Fines, fees & surcharges: The State of New Jersey imposes a series of mandatory fines for all second offense DUI/DWI convictions, including:
- $500.00 to $1,000.00 fine
- $280.00 Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) fee
- $100.00 to drunk driving fund
- $100.00 to Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund (AERF)
- $1,000.00/year (for 3 years) surcharge to the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC)
- $75.00 to Neighborhood Services Fund
Prison term: forty eight (48) hours to ninety (90) days
Community service, IDRC & Interlock:
- Thirty (30) days community service;
- 12 to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC); and
- Mandatory installation of ignition interlock device during driver’s license suspension and one (1) to three (3) years following license restoration
If you have been charged with a second offense DUI or DWI you should speak with an experienced DUI/DWI defense attorney. There are circumstances that may allow for your charges to be treated as a first offense.