Sex Crimes in New Jersey
Being charged with a sex crime is traumatic in several respects. Not only is the person facing a potential criminal conviction and jail time, but there is also the potential for “Megan’s Law” registration requirements. Most commonly sex crimes are alleged to have occurred between family members or individuals in domestic relationships. This makes the situation extremely volatile and stressful. As a former Burlington County Assistant Prosecutor who has tried sex crime cases I am familiar with all aspects of the charges, the conviction, the investigation and potential risks of trial.
Potential Sex Crime Charges In New Jersey
- Aggravated Sexual Assault, First Degree
- Sexual Assault, Second Degree
- Endangering the Welfare of Children, Second or Third Degree
- Aggravated Criminal Sexual Contact, Third Degree
- Criminal Sexual Contact, Fourth Degree
- Lewdness, Fourth Degree or Disorderly Persons
- Harassment, Petty Disorderly Persons Offense
Potential Punishment for Sex Crime Convictions:
- First Degree: 10-20 years
- Second Degree: 5-10 years
- Third Degree: 3-5 years
- Fourth Degree: 18 months
- Disorderly Persons: 6 months
- Petty Disorderly Persons: 30 days.
“Megan’s Law” registration requirements:
In 1994, Jesse Timmendequas was charged and convicted of the murder of seven-year-old Megan Kanka in New Jersey. Jesse Timmendequas was a convicted sex offender who was living on the same street as Megan. Megan’s parents did not find out about Jesse’s prior convictions until after Megan’s death. They felt that had they known about his prior predatory history they would have kept their young daughter away from him. Megan Kanka’s death inspired “Megan’s Law”, a statute enacted in 1994 requiring that information about convicted sex felons be available to the public. Versions of Megan’s Law have been passed in many states since her murder. New Jersey’s Megan’s Law is set forth in N.J.S.A. 2C:7-2. Convictions or adjudications of the following crimes will require persons to register under Megan’s Law.
- Aggravated Sexual Assault
- Sexual Assault
- Aggravated Criminal Sexual Contact
- Criminal Sexual Contact (if victim is a minor)
- Kidnapping if victim is under 16 years of age
- Endangering the Welfare of a Child (in certain circumstances)
- Promoting Prostitution of a Child under the age of 18
- False Imprisonment (if victim is a minor)
Megan’s Law registration requirements also apply to juvenile sexual offenses. If your son or daughter has been charged with any of the above offenses as a juvenile, contact a Burlington County Juvenile Lawyer.