Third or Subsequent Offense DUI or DWI in New Jersey
A conviction of a third or subsequent DUI or DWI in New Jersey within ten (10) years of a second conviction carries with it the following fines and penalties:
License Loss: Ten (10) years
Fines, fees & surcharges:
- $1,000.00 fine
- $280.00 Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) fee
- $100.00 to drunk driving fund
- $100.00 to Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund (AERF)
- $1,500.00/year (for 3 years) surcharge to the NJ Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC)
- $75.00 to Neighborhood Services Fund
Prison term: A third or subsequent DUI conviction carries a jail sentence of one hundred and eighty (180) days.
Community service, IDRC & Interlock:
- Up to ninety (90) days community service;
- 12 to 48 hours in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC); and
- Mandatory installation of ignition interlock device during license suspension and one (1) to three (3) years following license restoration.
If you have been charged with a third or subsequent DUI or DWI you should immediately speak with a DUI/DWI defense attorney. There are circumstances that may permit the treatment of your third offense as a second for sentencing purposes. There are also alternatives to jail time, which your attorney can discuss with you.